Planning and Plotting

Leave a comment

January 5, 2016 by tessaraewilliams

First week of 2016, and I’m already plotting my first quilt of the year!

As I posted last week, one of my goals for 2016 is to make a few Latrice Royale quilts. I’ve changed my ideas a bit. I’ll be making two mini quilts and one bed quilt. I’m just bursting with ideas! :p

I’ll be moving soon (AGAIN…) back to Kansas City, and I’m SO excited to go home. I’ve learned a lot being in Denver, but I’m just ready to be home. This week, I’ll be packing up my sewing room, so working on the patterns for the quilt and the minis is giving me something to look forward to when I unpack!

To make these quilts, I’ll be using Sam Hunter‘s paper pieced alphabet from her book Quilt Talk.  My mom got me this book for Christmas, and I cannot wait to get started!

9781607058885

For the minis, I think I’ll be hunting within my stash for fabric. But I have plans for the bed quilt! I’m not a huge fan of solid fabrics usually (I’m a novelties freak!), but I am in LOVE with Peppered Cottons by Studio E. They are my #1 favorite solids. These solids are yarn dyed, meaning the threads are dyed first before being woven into fabric. The cool thing about these solids is that the weft and warp threads aren’t the same color! When you look closely at the fabric, you can see it’s made up of two different colors, but from further away you only see one. This gives these solids a depth that you don’t see with normal solids.

I’m thinking of a fuchsia/eggplant color palette for my bed quilt. If you’d like to check out some peppered cottons for yourself, shop here (this is the online shop for my LQS Modern Makers!)! Can you picture fuchsia letters on the eggplant background? I’m so pumped just thinking about it!

But, as I said, I’m a novelty addict, so I’m thinking I gotta use a novelty backing. I’m thinking maybe this beautiful Cotton and Steel lawn. #treatyoself :p

il_570xn-711200324_bgq3

Is anyone else already planning on their first quilt of the year? I’d love to hear your ideas!

Leave a Reply

grey white polka dot instagram social media icongrey white polka dot pinterest social media icongrey white polka dot flickr social media icongrey white polka dot email social media icon

Today's Insta-Posts

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

2015 New Quilt Blog Hop

2015 New Quilt Bloggers Group

Sponsor

IMG_2668
