Wedding quilts, yay or nay?

1

February 2, 2016 by tessaraewilliams

My best friend is getting married in September. Yay!

Part of my wedding gift to them is to make their wedding guestbook quilt. To me it’s a big responsibility, because I want the quilt itself to be usable as well as visually cool, but from what I’ve seen, guestbook quilts have a way of being thoroughly un-modern. SO I’m currently trying to come up with a happy medium.

Currently I’m leaning toward something like the Tesselation Quilt by Jeni Baker.

tessellationfinal_cover

I plan to simplify the idea, but sticking to this as inspiration. I’m thinking of using white charm squares in place of the colored areas, and replacing the corner pieces with their wedding colors, purple and green. I think a scrappy look in the triangle areas could be cool, but I don’t think I have enough purple and green scraps. :p

Another reason I’m attracted to this idea is that because two corners are already going to be pieced, guests will know exactly where to sign (hopefully). The thing about quilts is people don’t really know how they work. I’m worried if I give people plain charms, they’ll write in the seam allowance, which defeats the purpose.

I’m also throwing around the idea of an orange peel quilt.

dscf4277

However, that’d require templates, and paper-backed fusible web, and I don’t think I want to deal with the headache.

I do know that I want people to sign blocks rather than a finished quilt. That was in case anyone makes a mistake, they can just try again on a new block, instead of being SOL on a finished quilt!

Have you ever been to a wedding that had a guestbook quilt? Have you ever made one yourself? What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Wedding quilts, yay or nay?

  1. Jamie says:

    My friend had a tree guestbook thing made of paper. It was so pretty but my husband totally messed up on our leaf. I wish we could have had a do over. Maybe a little sign explaining what to do would help?

    Like

Leave a Reply

grey white polka dot instagram social media icongrey white polka dot pinterest social media icongrey white polka dot flickr social media icongrey white polka dot email social media icon

Today's Insta-Posts

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

2015 New Quilt Blog Hop

2015 New Quilt Bloggers Group

Sponsor

IMG_2668
