Journal: Up your skills!

2

February 24, 2016 by tessaraewilliams

As I’ve said a million and one times, I’m determined to make a name and a career for myself in the quilting industry. I’m pretty confident in my sewing skills, however it’s going to take more than that to get where I want to go.

This week I’ve come up with ideas for both a fabric line AND a quilt pattern. I’m totally loving my ideas, however now I need to figure out how to turn those ideas into reality. I can’t just ask a manufacturer to make my line for me, and I don’t have the skills currently to draw up a professional-looking quilt pattern.

rashidajones

My next goal is to teach myself how to use Adobe Illustrator. From what I’ve read, that’s the most common software used when making both fabric designs and quilt patterns. If you have seen any quilting-related tutorials for Illustrator, I’d appreciate if you could point me to them! Until then, I’ll be googling away.

excusemefordreaming


Somewhat impulsively, I got a ticket to Sewtopia Austin in November! I say somewhat because it took nearly an hour to get my ticket. The site was flooded with people, so it kept crashing. But I made it through! I’m assuming by the time November rolls around, I’ll have a great job to pay off the trip, and it’ll be a little treat for myself since I didn’t get to go to QuiltCon this year like I had planned. I’m a bit nervous about going because I can be quite shy and quiet, and I don’t want to spend the whole weekend alone and not mixing in/meeting new people. But I’m sure everyone will be friendly and inclusive, so I’m hoping it’ll be a great time!


OPEN SWAPS

  • #noteanoshadeswap – hosted by @bettyjanebyalex, @spacelordzombie, and @heatherleanne. This swap’s theme is RuPaul’s Drag Race. Sign-ups open March 2.

As always, if you see any open swaps, please tag me in the comments, so I can add it to the weekly list!

Thanks all!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Journal: Up your skills!

  1. prettyinplaydough says:

    I love this idea, and your dedication. I am yet to decide what I want to do and so am flitting from thing to thing but I want to make a name for myself, too. I love needle and wet felting so I am trying to do something with that!!

    Good kick in your venture

    – Catherine
    https://prettyinplaydough.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

grey white polka dot instagram social media icongrey white polka dot pinterest social media icongrey white polka dot flickr social media icongrey white polka dot email social media icon

Today's Insta-Posts

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

2015 New Quilt Blog Hop

2015 New Quilt Bloggers Group

Sponsor

IMG_2668
